May 2015 Meeting

Two important things happen during the May meeting: the election of officers and the Virginia Olson Competition.

This year’s elections were for secretary and treasurer. Rosemary Tobin agreed to continue as treasurer, and Noël Rozum Neff was elected to the office of secretary. The terms are for two years.

President Karen Kitchen then took the opportunity to honor Karen DeVries who has been Guild secretary for the past ten years. We appreciate the many contributions and efforts she has made to our guild in this role.

As a token of our appreciation, Karen was presented the traditional gift of a chair cushion to make future meetings more comfy for her.

Karen with her chair cushion

Karen with her chair cushion

The Virginia Olson Competition was started to honor a longtime Guild member who was a role model and nurturer to many. This year’s committee members Diane Davison, Rosemary Tobin, and Karen Agee chose the theme Iowa Proud. The winner of each category was selected by popular vote of the members.

The winner of the handspun yarn category was a three ply skein made of merino and silk by Mary Ann Upchurch.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Diane Davison’s placemats received the most votes in the weaving category. Diane’s inspiration was a photograph entitled “Winter Wonderland” taken by Iowa artist Julie Hamilton.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The members chose Megan Lostroh’s shawl as the winner of the Any Fiber Process category. Megan’s color choices were inspired by a Grant Wood landscape, and she chose a design by Stephen Wood to echo the contours of the painting. If you weren’t at the meeting, ask Megan to tell you about meeting Stephen Wood’s grandmother. 😊

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At first Janice Fobian wasn’t very happy with how her painted warp turned out, but after shifting the warp and using a weft with a slub of glitz she changed her mind. The resulting scarf was selected by the members as the winner of the dyeing category.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The final award of the morning was an item chosen by the Virginia Olson Committe for its exceptional craftsmanship.  The Audrey Stevens Award in Weaving was given to Elaine Lawler’s weaving inspired by an illustration in the book The Christmas of the Reddle Moon. The artist, Gary Kelley, and Elaine both grew up in Algona, Iowa.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Congratulations to this year’s award winners and all the members who entered items they made especially for the competition. Many voters commented that the quality of the entries made choosing a favorite difficult.

Thanks also to the Virginia Olson committee for selecting categories which allowed participants to stretch their artistic imaginations and skills.






This entry was posted in meetings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s